New Mayor and Councilmember Join the City Council

Press Release

Press Release - New Mayor and Councilmember Join the Elk Grove City Council

Posted: 12/09/2020

City Council appoints Stephanie Nguyen to preside as the City’s Vice Mayor

 The Elk Grove City Council’s last meeting of 2020 ushered in changes in the leadership of Sacramento County’s second largest city. Bobbie Singh-Allen was sworn in as Elk Grove’s third directly elected mayor and the first directly elected Sikh woman mayor in the country.

Mayor Bobbie Singh-Allen“I look forward to quickly ensuring that we are responsive to the needs of the residents of Elk Grove like COVID economic recovery to assist our small businesses and working families. Collaborative work within the council and city staff will be key. Engagement from the public will also be important. We can move our city forward together,” said Mayor Singh-Allen.

Singh-Allen is a native of India and a wife and mother of two children. She has lived in Elk Grove for nearly 30 years. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Government from the California State University, Sacramento and a Juris Doctor from Lincoln Law School. Prior to being elected to the Elk Grove City Council, Mayor Singh-Allen served for more than eight years as a trustee of the Elk Grove Unified School District Board of Education, California’s fifth largest school district.

While the duties of Elk Grove’s Mayor are many, it is not a full-time position. Singh-Allen is an elected State Commissioner for Visit California and serves as a member of the Sacramento Regional Coalition for Tolerance, California Chamber of Commerce, and Cal-Travel. Her career has included leadership roles representing statewide hotel and lodging associations, special education service providers and schools, housing and community development companies, and consulting for various clients on issues including land use development, affordable housing, and real estate. Her civic and community engagement has earned several awards and recognitions. In 2015, Mayor Singh-Allen was recognized as “Woman of the Year” for California Assembly District 9 and recognized for her many achievements in front of the California Legislature.

Elk Grove voters approved the directly elected Mayor format in 2010. The Mayor serves a two-year term. Learn more about Elk Grove’s governing structure.

The new District 3 Councilmember Kevin Spease and reelected District 1 Councilmember Darren Suen also took the oath of office tonight after winning their races in the first year of by-district elections. Councilmembers are elected to four-year terms. Councilmember Spease will assume the office vacated by Vice Mayor, Steve Detrick. A farewell presentation recognizing Mr. Detrick’s service to the community on the City Council was also part of the meeting.

“It is an honor to serve the residents of Elk Grove District 3 as their next City Councilmember,” said Kevin Spease. “I’m looking forward to working with Mayor Singh-Allen and the rest of the City Council to keep our neighborhoods safe and our roads efficient as we work to safely revive our local economy and restore prosperity for all residents.”

In related action, the Elk Grove City Council appointed District 4 Councilmember Stephanie Nguyen to preside as the City’s Vice Mayor. This one-year appointment took effect immediately.

For more information about the Elk Grove City Council, visit

#          #          #

© 2021 City of Elk Grove. All Rights Reserved.